2023 Recipients

Paul Renwick Award - Graham Hayes

Paul Dwight Renwick taught at Henry Janzen School in Regina from 1982 to 1987. As a physical Education instructor, he excelled in his field. Most students found his physical education program stimulating and challenging and his extra curricular activities exciting and exhilarating. Paul’s program was recognized and he received the CAHPERD QDPE Award in 1987. Paul’s life was cut short and he died of cancer June 22, 1987.

Paul was actively involved with SPEA. He was president-elect in 1981-82, president in 1982-83 and past president in 1983-84. During his year as president Paul foresaw a need for SPEA to be much more than a conference planning body. He envisioned and proposed a three year plan for the organization and laid the foundation for SPEA to become the major voice for physical educators across Saskatchewan. From 1985-1987 Paul assumed the role of part-time executive director where he pursued sources of grant money to enable the organization to pursue provincial initiatives. Paul’s foresight and vision left a legacy for physical educators in Saskatchewan and for SPEA as an organization.

In recognition for his outstanding professional career and his unwavering commitment to physical and health education in the province of Saskatchewan, PHE Saskatchewan wishes to bestow its’ highest honor, the Paul Renwick Award to Mr. Graham Hayes of Regina, Saskatchewan.

Graham Hayes, was born and raised in Rosetown, SK. He earned his Bachelor of Education from the University of Regina. During this time, he was instrumental in the development of the University of Regina Student’s HOPE Association. As a result of the foundation that Graham set, the HOPE Association has gone on to support not only countless university students but also youth throughout the province.

Shortly after the completion of his BEd, he went on to complete his Master of Education, Curriculum & Instruction from the University of Regina.

Throughout his teaching career Graham has taught a range of subjects as well as holding the position of Physical Education/Health Consultant, for the Regina Catholic School Division from 2014-2017. He is also a provincial facilitator with the Saskatchewan Professional Development Unit, as well as a sessional instructor at the University of Regina. He is a former assistant coach and player with the University of Regina Cougars men’s hockey team. Graham was also nominated to the Give Kids A Chance Board in 2021 by the Saskatchewan Hockey Association.

He served as President of the Saskatchewan Physical Education Association from 2017-19. To this day, Graham is still an instrumental influence on the success of the Student Leadership Experience which PHE Sask facilitates each fall.

An experienced school-based administrator and curriculum consultant, Mr. Hayes has been the catalyst to many provincial and national initiatives. He is truly a deserving candidate of the 2023 Paul Renwick Award for PHE Saskatchewan!

Congratulations Graham!

Jack MacKenzie Career Service Award - Ms. Twyla Salm

Physical Educator of the Year - Mr. Levi Broda

Levi was born and raised in Melville, Sk. before heading off to Saskatoon to pursue a Bachelor’s of Education and Kinesiology degree at the U of S.   He was excited to accept his first teaching position within the Holy Trinity Catholic School Division and was placed at St. Agnes for the 2008-2009 school year. Upon the conclusion of the 09 school year he was brought to Vanier to assume duties as athletic director and physical education teacher. If you have ever visited the gym there to watch a game you have probably run into him! His teaching duties include all physical education classes ranging from grades 9 through 12. He is enthusiastic about all athletic pursuits and enjoys introducing students to new physical activity opportunities.

Vanier has a rich history of athletics and Levi has enjoyed the opportunity to carry on the traditions of those who came before him. As athletic director he oversees all of Vanier’s athletic programs and ensures that all ten of the sanctioned SHSAA sports are equally represented at the school. He has also continued his education by achieving his Masters in Educational Administration and Leadership. He is thrilled when speaking of the athletic culture that exists at Vanier. All of the students have tremendous opportunities to take part in their athletic programs and develop important life skills away from the classroom. Personally, he has been a passionate coach for Senior Boys Volleyball and Track & Field; two programs that have achieved recent success at the local and provincial levels. Levi is an excellent physical educator and most deserving of this award.

Congratulations Levi!

Health Educator of the Year - Ms. Jill Kondratiuk

Local Initiative Award Winner - Mr. Darcy Lepowick

Darcy is noted for creating a strong land based program at Dr. Brass School in Yorkton that promotes First Nation and Indigenous culture in the school community.

Darcy has brought the enjoyment and the love of Indigenous Culture to the school. He has provided students with an authentic hands-on learning approach. Students learn about respect and the importance of Indigenous and Metis culture through the Grandfather Teachings, Smudging, Cree, Michif, and Saulteaux language. Furthermore Mr. Lypowich has taught students how to remove feathers of birds, skinning various animals, one being the tail of a beaver, and tanning the skin of a fish. This group has also participated in ceremonies at Fort Qu'appelle and Keeseekoose First Nation. As well, he hosted Elder’s visits throughout the year focusing on Indigenous Storytelling and the sharing of lived experiences from the past with his students.

After school he has brought drummers in to work with the students for extra-curricular opportunities. He has also started to get some dancers to work with students interested in dancing.

The students at Dr. Brass School have been so fortunate to work with Mr. Lypowich this past year.  He is a very deserving winner of this Local Initiative Award!

Congratulations Darcy!

Dr. Andy Anderson Young Professional of the Year (PHE Canada) - Mr. Lynden Proctor

Local Initiative Award Winner - Mr. Jason Grieve

Local Initiative Award Winner - Ms. Mykayla Brems

TPSR Alliance of CanadaDistinguished Service Award 2023 - Dr. Nick Forsberg